Happy Habits – 3 Week Challenge

It’s the busy season for me – FINALS.

Finals are coming up in the first week of December and everything’s boiling down. I have papers, projects, tests, homework and more that will be due in two weeks then around the corner is a group of exams that will knock my socks off! But, hey, I’ve got a God who’s looking out so He showed me some things, whispered some things in my ear.

One word: HABITS.

Two: Good Habits.

Image

The Bible does not speak about “habits” per se but it does speak about repetitively doing good things, which in itself is the creation of a good habit. In order for us to be transformed by the renewing of our minds (Romans 12:2) we need to repetitively renew our minds. Sounds simple, right? Surely, it is… and certainly, it’s not. Bad habits are hard to break, and the implementation of good habits takes a considerable amount of time. It takes about 25 to 30 days to form a good habit, and another month to make it become a part of you – your third, very productive arm. So what does this have to do with Christianity?

How many bad habits do you have? From small fingernail biting to a callous temper these habits affect your daily Christian life. They become hindrances, slowly but surely. You may say, “fingernail biting isn’t a big thing.. how could that affect anyone, really?” It may seem small but nail biting can drastically affect your health by making your cuticles more susceptible to infections and can cause dental issues. Your body is a temple, stop gnawing on your pews.

How many good habits do you have? Furthermore, how many more good habits do you want to have? Make a list and join this challenge. No, seriously, get a pen and paper (I’ll snack on an apple while I wait). Write at least 7 good habits you want to have (at most 12). For three weeks starting November 11th, 2013 to December 2nd, 2013 your aim is to do those things listed. Remember, these aren’t goals, these are habits-in-the-making. I predict that by the end of the first week you’ll notice a big improvement in your life!

Psst. Make sure to include some Holy Habits. For example, how nice would it be to create the habit of waking up and having a bible study/ watching a sermon first thing in the am?! That’s definitely a habit I want!

Hey, you won’t be doing this alone. I’ll do it with you. Starting on DAY 1 I will post on my personal blog (it’s new, I couldn’t help it, sue me) recaps on how each “habit day” went. I’m sure the first few days will seem a bit hard, then it will get easier.

Follow this blog as well as my second for motivation.. and possibly some not-funny jokes.

See you soon!

God Bless,

Philly

4 thoughts on “Happy Habits – 3 Week Challenge

  1. Pingback: My Future Good Habits | 3:16 For God So Loved...

  2. Pingback: DAY 1: Old Habits Die Hard, New Ones Need A Cesarean | To my Proverbs 31 Ladies, Eyes on Jesus

  3. Pingback: Day 2: God, Write Me A Letter | To my Proverbs 31 Ladies, Eyes on Jesus

Leave a Reply

